Home / Sports / PGA Tour moves to Florida for Honda Classic

PGA Tour moves to Florida for Honda Classic



Site: Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: PGA National Resort and Spa, The Champion (7,140 yards, standard 70).

Purse: $6.1 million. Winner’s share: $1,098,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 11 a.m.-3 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.) and NBC (Saturday-Sunday, noon-3 p.m.).

Last year: Russell Henley won with a birdie on a initial hole of a playoff with Rory McIlroy, Ryan Palmer and Russell Knox.

Last week: Former Cal golfer James Hahn won a Northern Trust Open during Riviera for his initial PGA Tour title. He holed a 25-foot birdie putt on a third hole of a playoff with Dustin Johnson. Paul Casey was separated on a second additional hole.

Notes: Top-ranked McIlroy, a 2012 winner, is creation his initial PGA Tour start of a year. He’s entrance off a feat Feb. 1 in a European Tour’s Dubai Desert Classic. … Phil Mickelson is in a margin after blank a cuts during TPC Scottsdale and Torrey Pines. He’s winless given a 2013 British Open. … The Champion march was a site of a 1983 Ryder Cup and 1987 PGA Championship. … The World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship is subsequent week during Doral. The Puerto Rico Open also is subsequent week.



Site: Chonburi, Thailand.

Schedule: Wednesday-Sunday.

Course: Siam Country Club, Pattaya Old Course (6,548 yards, standard 72).

Purse: $1.5 million. Winner’s share: $225,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Saturday, 10 p.m.-2 a.m.

Last year: Sweden’s Anna Nordqvist won to finish a five-year feat drought, holding off South Korea’s Inbee Park by dual strokes. Nordqvist also won a Kia Classic final year.

Last week: New Zealand’s Lydia Ko won a Women’s Australian Open in her second start during No. 1 in a world, violence South Korea’s Amy Yang by dual strokes. The 17-year-old Ko has 6 LPGA Tour titles.

Notes: Ko is skipping a contest to play in a New Zealand Women’s Open. … The second-ranked Park is in a 72-player margin along with No. 3 Stacy Lewis, No. 4 Shanshan Feng, No. 5 Michelle Wie, No. 6 Suzann Pettersen, No. 7 So Yeon Ryu, No. 8 Hyo-Joo Kim, No. 9 Karrie Webb and No. 10 Lexi Thompson. … The HSBC Women’s Champions is subsequent week in Singapore.


Article source: http://www.mercurynews.com/ci_27598949/pga-tour-moves-florida-honda-classic

Scroll To Top